Mock Interview

Hey everyone it’s Ray. I’m just going to answer a few questions to prepare myself for future interviews, but also to get to know myself a bit better. Actually I’m just doing it because Con thought it’d be cool. So yeah, forget everything I said above.

Tell me about yourself.

I’m a first-year student at UC Riverside, and am majoring in Neuroscience. I have always loved the sciences, and when selecting a major for college applications, UCR was unique in that it offered Neuroscience as a major. Other than science, I love doing a bunch of different things, have a bunch of hobbies, or whatever people are calling those things nowadays. Too many shenanigans to list, but something on my mind lately is Catching Fire and designing flyers.

Describe your working style.

My working style is best described with one word–awesome.

What are your strengths? What are your weaknesses?

My strengths are how flexible I am to change and my ability to get things done, right, the first time. Not really, I usually fuck up a bunch of times before I get things right. But usually I get things right by the time a deadline comes around. My weaknesses include nice books, nice bikes, women with nice smiles, women that make my knees buckle, life hacks, procrastination, distracting myself, really trusting people.

Why do you want to work here?

It sounds like fun!!

Why should we hire you?

Please please please please please please please please please please please please please hire me. I swear I don’t bite. I promise! Please hire me, I won’t play the Kangaroo song anymore! …and I wipe my own ass! I wipe my own ass!

What are you looking for in a position?

Oh baby there are many things I’m looking for 😉

How would your coworkers, teammates, peers describe you?

…probably…….MAAAAAAAAAAAN. He coo.

Do you prefer to work independently or as part of a team?

I get lonely a lot so I definitely prefer being in a team. That way we can all live and learn and grow together :’). Kidding. I hate people. I can only work independently. Kidding again. I like both.

Tell me about a time when you had to deal with conflict on a team.

At one point, I used to really give a fuck about my tennis matches. My partner on the other hand never gave any fucks about the matches. I dealt with the conflict very passive aggressively. I stopped giving fucks and made the dumbest mistakes (on purpose of course) until he got super fed up with it. This went on for the rest of the season and now we don’t talk anymore. I guess I could have solved this a little bit differently, but in the end we both learned a valuable lesson.

Name a time when you were frustrated at work or while working on a project. How did you fix it?

One time I was designing this flyer and my obsolete laptop that I bought in the early 2000s kept lagging. I got so fed up with it that I smashed it and put all the parts in my BlendTec. Got in my car, went to the nearest Apple store, handled.

What’s your biggest professional or student accomplishment?

I haven’t really accomplished anything too substantial just yet.

Do you have any questions for me?

Yes. Why are manholes circular? (interview questions suck, esp the one below)

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years? 10 years?

I haven’t been able to look that far into the future yet, but probably on a plane with a random destination, sipping some cliche alcoholic beverage. No but seriously, in 5 years I def see myself flippin’ burgers somewhere. 10 years? Maybe I’ll get promoted to patties and milkshakes!

I’d like to be in some third world country or something dedicating my time to helping out in whatever way I can. Maybe not for too long, maybe a summer or a year or so? But maybe I’ll stay in school, and pursue my academics. Medical school or some lab maybe? Not sure to be honest. It seems so far ahead, yet I guess it’s actually pretty close. Seeing how I tend to put myself out there and take on whatever opportunities I see in front of me, in five to tens years I really could be doing some shit on the other side of the world. Or doing something totally not related to science at all. But then again everything relates back to science. But for now, I’ll stick with school. It’s just a back up plan until some shenanigans comes along my way.

One response to “Mock Interview

Leave a Reply

