Optimism

In light of events happening around the world and in my own life, I’d like to put in my 2 cents and promote optimism. For the squeamish, no worries, I am too and I just love torturing myself and reading a bunch of articles on this and that, but I will spare you and not go into detail. We don’t really have any viewers, LOL, but we had a little icon of a US flag at half-staff on the banner. Ray did it. So cute haha ^^

Anyways, I’m one of those people that can get really worked up over scary and sad things in the news and I don’t even watch the news. I was extremely concerned about the situations abroad about two weeks ago. I couldn’t do much about it; I have no political control, and I wouldn’t really want any aside from my basic human rights, like freedom of choice, etc.etc. all the shit we Americans push for (forgive me if I sound like an idiot, I don’t have that much knowledge of political stuff..so I hope you get what I mean). The only way I could cope with the situation was to stay optimistic and try not to think about it. That got hard once I heard about the bombings in Boston and the explosion in Texas, and then the shootings, etc. I was like FUCK dude, is the world turning to shit or what? What’s going wrong? Why is this happening?

Regarding my personal situation- classes were getting hard and I was having a hard time being motivated to catch up. I was tired all the time, had trouble finding the will to get out of bed (got up at 4 PM multiple times after sleeping 12 hours), and to be honest, I’m still tired. I’ve been having issues with a significant other, and feeling like I don’t have a lot of people to talk to. Also, I’ve been looking for an internship in the summer, which I haven’t been having much luck in. I did find an opportunity abroad but I wasn’t sure if my parents would let me go. Really 1st world problems I guess.

For a long time now I’ve believed that mindset is nearly everything. With optimism you can accomplish a shit ton. It’s the reason I want to keep living. After all, the reason why most people do things is for hope of a better life, better times. You can be skeptical of our technological advancements and its effects, but honestly, it’s allowed us to achieve some really amazing and helpful things that you just can’t deny. Things like medicine. For all the people that make a load of money, they help the economy’s consumption. Adam Smith has said that in pursuing self-interest we also push for the better of many others besides ourselves, whether we know it or not. To be more effective in making my point, I should probably provide examples, but I don’t want this to be a super long-winded post..

Perhaps there are a lot of mean people on the earth that don’t care for others, but there are also a lot of good people. I urge everybody to hope for the good. In hoping, having faith, being optimistic, you also become a kinder person. Don’t lose hope in mankind. There really ARE a lot of amazing people out there that try to help as many people as they can. If people REALLY take in a positive mindset, I believe that things will get much better. On a more micro-level, things go bad when people lose faith and become negative. They say negative things to the people around them and the effects are super suck. 😦 On the other hand, when people are positive they spread the craziest energy to people around them. It’s really a fuckin’ inspiration. It makes me feel like things will be okay even if right now they’re not.

If we are all optimistic, then things will be okay, because people will be driven to improve.

That being said, I’m still trying to implement this in myself. Like many others I go through up and downs, but I’m trying to come back stronger than before. I can do it, you can do it, the world can do it. Growing up with first-generation Asian immigrant parents, I didn’t exactly have the most loving encouragement/support, but I realize now that it can really spur someone on. So I’m going to try to be more supportive and encouraging for those around me. I want to help others be more positive and optimistic about the future as well. It’s difficult on a world scale, but it’ll make a difference starting with the individuals.

This post was poorly organized and my argument wasn’t too well supported.. I may rewrite this in the future, but for now,

keep your head up on the look out for great people and stay beautiful ya bishes

Leave a Reply

